Charged Reviews · Quick reference

GoodWe GW4.2K-DNS-G40

Brand
GoodWe
Model
GW4.2K-DNS-G40
SKU / part number
?
Category
Inverters
chargedreviews.com/inverters/goodwe-gw4-2k-dns-g40

AC output

Continuous output4.2 kW[2]Calculated
Peak output?
AC configurationSingle-phase[1]
AC output voltage220 / 230 / 240 V, L / N / PE[2]
AC frequency50 / 60 Hz[2]
Grid pass-through?
Maximum output per leg?

Battery

Battery voltage?
Battery voltage range?
Maximum charge current?
Maximum discharge current?
Battery-only output?
Maximum grid charging?
Compatible batteries / BMS?

PV input

PV array limit (connected)?
PV input limit (converted)?
Maximum PV voltage (Voc)600 V[1, 4]
MPPT voltage range40 to 560 V[2, 4]
MPPT trackers2[1, 4]
String inputs per MPPT1[2, 4]
PV current per MPPT20 A[2, 4]
PV short-circuit current26 A[2, 4]
PV startup voltage50 V[2, 4]

Efficiency and modes

Peak efficiency98.1 %[2, 4]
CEC weighted efficiency97.3 %[2, 4]
Battery conversion efficiency?
Grid / off-grid modes?
Generator input?
Transfer time?
Idle consumption?
Night consumption1 W[2]
Parallel units?

Communication and environment

CommunicationsRS485; WIFI; LAN; Bluetooth; 4G[4]
Operating temperature-25 to 60 °C[2, 4]
Enclosure ratingIP66[2, 4]
Operating noise25 dB[4]

Mechanical

Dimensions165 D × 358 W × 323 H mm[2, 4]
Weight9.2 kg / 20.28 lb[2, 4]

Installation (from the manual)

Torque

AC terminal torque0.8N·m (Type 1 AC terminal); 1.2N·m (Type 2 AC terminal)[4]
Battery terminal torque?
PV terminal torque?
Ground terminal torque1.2 to 2 N·m(10.62 to 17.7 in-lb*)[4]

Conductors

Battery conductors?
AC input conductors?
AC output conductors3-3.6kW: Cu, 4-6mm²; 5-6kW: Cu, 6mm²[4]
PV conductors?
Ground conductorOutdoor single-core copper wire, conductor cross-sectional area 4-6mm2[4]

Protection

AC input breaker?
AC output breaker32A[4]
Battery fuse or breaker?
PV disconnect?

Clearances and orientation

Installation clearancesTop ≥300mm; left ≥200mm; right ≥200mm; bottom ≥500mm; front ≥300mm[4]
Mounting orientationVertical or backward tilt ≤ 15°[4]

Not in the manual: Grounding, Communication

Page 1 of 2 · Installation values · ? means nothing is recordedAggregated, often community-reported information, not official documentation. Do not rely on it for installation, purchase or compliance decisions; always confirm values with the manufacturer’s official documentation. Charged Reviews accepts no responsibility for errors.

Charged Reviews · Quick reference

GoodWe GW4.2K-DNS-G40 · GW4.2K-DNS-G40

Warranty

Warranty term5 years[3]
Optional extension?
Coverage startsEarlier of first installation or 6 months after production[3]
Coverage conditions?
Remedy?
Labor and shipping?
Transfer to another owner?
Registration?
TerritoryInternational market except China mainland, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, America, Canada, Brazil and European countries[3]

Certifications and listings

UL 1741?
UL 1741 SA?
UL 1741 SB?
IEEE 1547?
CA Rule 21?
UL 9540?
FCC Part 15?

Documents and sources

  1. GoodWe GW3K-DNS-G40 product identityOfficial product page · Revised Not stated · Checked Sep 15, 2026https://en.goodwe.com/dns-g4
  2. GoodWe DNS G4 Series datasheet (GoodWe-Single page-20250522-EN-V2.1)Official datasheet · Revision GoodWe-Single page-20250522-EN-V2.1 · Revised Not stated · Checked Sep 25, 2026https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_DNS-G4_Datasheet-EN.pdf
  3. GOODWE Limited Warranty for Inverter System (for Global market), Rev: 5.3 20260917Official warranty · Revision Rev: 5.3 20260917 · Revised September 17, 2026 · Checked Sep 25, 2026https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/Downloads/Warranty/GOODWE%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20Inverter%20System-GLOBAL.pdf
  4. GoodWe DNS G4 Series Grid-Tied PV Inverter User Manual (V1.8-2026-09-15)Official user manual · Revision V1.8-2026-09-15 · Revised September 2026 · Checked Oct 1, 2026https://en.goodwe.com/Skippower/downloadFileF?id=2918&mid=60